PROUST AMONG THE ANIMALS: DEDICATION

Joel Rich

Some of you may have been present on occasions in the past when I’ve given what I call “an illustrated lecture.”

Well, this is an “illustrated dedication”  to three people.

And I’d like first to dedicate this lecture to my long-time colleague, and friend George Anastaplo.

Mr. Anastaplo was one of the first people with whom I had any substantive conversation about Proust, as it happened, at a Cubs game some four years ago. (You remember the Cubs? They are a baseball team that plays on the North Side. The world champion Chicago White Sox play on the South Side.  I trust that George will appreciate this comment.)

And subsequently, it was in conversation with him that the idea of today’s lecture was hatched, that one fruitful way of approaching Proust might be to notice how animals appear in his work

So it’s certainly appropriate–and I’m very pleased to be able–to dedicate my observations on this occasion to George Anastaplo.

I have a brief appreciation of Mr. Anastaplo on the table outside the auditorium and I invite you to pick up a copy on your way out (see this blog, posted June 10, 2010).

But today, George has to share the honor, if I may, because this lecture is also dedicated to two other individuals who have informed the development of my understanding of Proust among the animals.

These are my two dear long-time companions Rustic and Tobias Pink von Orange.

To George, Rustic, and Tobias, then, I dedicate this lecture.

Thank you.

____________________

The most recent website presenting works by Joel Rich can be found at proustian.com.

When first presented as part of a University of Chicago First Friday lecture–December 2, 2005–this talk included photograhs of the three “persons” mentioned here–these can be seen below (click on the picture to enlarge it, more than once if desired).

This entry was posted in About Anastaplo, Remembrance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

